Built in 1745 by by Nathan Wilbur, a sailor and ship's carpenter and native of the island, the windmill has an unusual octagonal shape and was constructed using wooden pegs because nails were too expensive.
At a height of fifty feet, the Windmill is an iconic part of the island's landscape. Each arm is forty feet in length and the lattice work on each is six-feet wide. Only two at a time are ever covered by canvas as the island's winds are usually more than sufficient to turn the wheel with the lattice alone.
The Mill was purchased in 1897 and donated to The Nantucket Historical Association. It's open to the public from Memorial Day to Columbus Day and still grinds corn meal in the summer.
- Plastic Frame and Body
- UL listed
- 4 watt bulb included
- Glow vent casts light upward
- Adjustable tines to fit any socket
- Approximate Night Light Dimensions 4.125" (w) x 3.375 (h) x 2.5" (d)
- Interior Image Area 3.5" (w) x 2.75"(h)
We accept payments via Credit Card and PayPal.