- Conimicut Light sits upon a ledge in the middle of the channel at the mouth of the Providence River warning mariners of a sand bar extending from Conimicut Point on the west side of the channel.
- It was erected in 1866 as a more effective navigational aid than nearby Nayatt Point Light, which was subsequently decommissioned.
- The lack of housing for the keeper meant a long, hazardous and arduous row every day each way in all types of weather and not surprisingly, was a source of discontent for those stationed there. A five room house was added, but not long after, calamity struck.
- Pack ice driven by a strong northeast wind crushed the house and the keeper and his child escaped with their lives by sitting on a mattress atop an ice flow, only to be picked up hours later by a passing tug. The keeper's hands and feet had frozen and it was months before he resumed his duties.
- The current, and much more secure, cast-iron housing was installed in 1882 and gives the light the appearance of a spark plug.
- Hurricanes, hauntings and hair-raising rescues are all part of Conimicut Light's rich history and the uniquely-shaped beacon is now the property of the City of Warwick, Rhode Island and has been the focus of restoration efforts on the part of that city, local lighthouse enthusiasts, and the Federal government.
- Product Specifications
- Plastic Frame and Body
- UL listed
- 4 watt bulb included
- Glow vent casts light upward
- Adjustable tines to fit any socket
- Approximate Night Light Dimensions 4.125" (w) x 3.375 (h) x 2.5" (d)
- Interior Image Area 3.5" (w) x 2.75"(h)
We accept payments via Credit Card and PayPal.